If you've been arrested on suspicion of driving while intoxicated, you need to think carefully about your next step. Otherwise, you could find yourself spending more than one night in jail. You should hire a dedicated attorney for your DUI defense in the Salinas, California area - or you might end up convicted of DUI and dealing with the social, professional and legal consequences. We serve Monterey County, Santa Cruz County, and Salinas Area.
Taylor & Dolowich, A Professional Law Corporation offers legal support for individuals facing DUI charges in the state of California. If you've been charged with a crime, you need to start building your defense as soon as possible. Call our lawyers today to schedule a consultation.
Taylor & Dolowich will fight for your rights and serve as your voice in the courtroom. We'll employ any legal means to help you avoid the consequences of a conviction. Whether this is your first arrest for a DUI or you're attempting to avoid a second conviction, you can rely on our lawyers to fight on your behalf.
We'll work hard to help you avoid:
If the arrest occurred prior to January 1, 2019, the DMV will not apply these new laws to you, but the court can.
If you were arrested for an alcohol-related DUI on or after January 1, 2019, it is important to understand how the new laws impact your privilege to drive. Below is a brief summary of the newly enacted laws. For more information, clarification, or a more detailed explanation, please call us at Taylor & Dolowich at 831-998-9187.
If this is your first misdemeanor DUI offense, you can now apply for a restricted license without waiting out the initial 30-day hard suspension period previously imposed by the DMV. There are two ways to continue driving legally after a first-time misdemeanor DUI:
In both cases, you will also need to show the DMV proof of SR-22 insurance and proof of enrollment in an approved DUI class. Note, on a first-time misdemeanor DUI offense, you are not required to install an IID unless:
If this is a first-time felony DUI with injury to another, you will be required to install an IID for 1 year from the date of conviction. After a first-time felony DUI/injury conviction, you can get a 1-year restricted license if you install an IID for 1 year, get SR-22 insurance, and enroll in an approved DUI class.
If this is your second misdemeanor DUI offense within 10 years, and you are convicted, the DMV will suspend your license for 2 years. You will be required to install an IID for 1 year. However, you can get a restricted license by installing an IID for 2 years, getting SR-22 insurance, and enrolling in an approved DUI class.
If this is your third misdemeanor DUI offense within 10 years, and you are convicted, the DMV will suspend your license for 3 years. You will be required to install an IID for 2 years. However, you can get a restricted license by installing an IID for 3 years, getting SR-22 insurance, and enrolling in an approved DUI class.
If you get your charge reduced from a first-offense misdemeanor DUI to a wet reckless, in most cases the DMV will still suspend your license for 4 months, but you can apply for a restricted license after the first month, with proof of SR-22 insurance and enrollment in an approved DUI class.